Cafe Grillades

A few weeks back, I had family visiting us from Seattle and as usual, we took our tourists to the lovely San Francisco! We took them to Marin Headlands which is a hilly peninsula at the southernmost end of Marin County, California, United States, located just north of San Francisco across the Golden Gate Bridge, which connects the two counties and peninsulas, and gives you a great view of the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco! After a long day of hiking and site seeing, there was only one thing left to do, EAT DINNER! So on our way back we stopped by Cafe Grillades, located in San Bruno. A small Algerian cafe that serves finger licking good food and huge portions of it too! 

The restaurant itself is somewhat small and contains about 10 tables total. So my family and I took up a large portion of the restaurant (we were 13 people). Then we came to order. The menu has a huge range of dishes but it’s mainly Mediterranean cuisine. I saw that they had lamb chops and immediately jumped to order them only to be disappointed by the news that they had run out for the day. So, I ordered the “Marinated Grilled Tender Lamb Brochettes”, or lamb kabobs if we want to simplify it.  The order itself took about 20-30 minutes to arrive, which was somewhat understandable considering that they only had 3 people working and we were a large group. However, it was a fairly long wait time. The rest of my family ordered different dishes like their grilled fish, paninis, sausage, and burgers.

DISCLAIMER: THEIR PORTIONS ARE HUGE. I was so surprised at how big my plate was and overwhelmed but I was so hungry I ate it all anyways. My lamb came on a skewer grilled with bell peppers and onions, served with a side of their garlic fries, and a salad. Their salad was refreshing, and topped with a lovely house made balsamic vinaigrette. Their french fries, cooked to perfection and had just the right amount of garlic on top and came with a side of spicy garlic dipping sauce. Finally, the lamb kabobs were cooked to a beautiful medium well and their grill added a nice smoky flavor. All in all, I ended the meal with a full stomach and a dessert menu.

The dessert menu had their famous crepes and gelato so I went ahead and ordered the Nutella and Strawberries crepe. The crepe was served with a side of vanilla gelato and was delicious. It’s super difficult in general to mess up a basic crepe with strawberries and Nutella so my expectations weren’t too high but I was definitely craving something sweet after everything we’d just eaten and it was the perfect end to a great meal. I then went home and slept for 11 hours straight due to the sever food coma I was in.

