PHO-Real?

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetOn a cold winter rainy day the only thing I want to do is curl up in a blanket and have a hot bowl of soup while watching one of my favorite movies. And Pho Hoa makes my wishes come true! I had tried Pho before but had had a very negative experience so I was super skeptical about trying it again when my friend suggested getting it for lunch. However, I had a much better experience when I went to Pho-Hoa. The previous Pho places I tried were very unsanitary, had horrible customer service, and overall didn’t give me an experience that made me want to go back and try it again.

Before talking about Pho Hoa, one must first understand what Pho is. Pho is a Vietnamese noodle soup that consists of: rice noodles, broth, and a type of protein such as beef or chicken. The way it’s made is that the protein you picked is placed on the bottom of your bowl raw, then on top, boiling broth is poured on top to cook the protein, and rice noodles are then placed and mixed together with everything and topped with onion slices and green onions. Since it tastes bland by itself, there is usually hot and hoisin sauce placed on the side and other ingredients such as lemon slices, Thai basil leaves, and bean sprouts.

I personally tend to like my soup without the onions on top and with a nice mix of both hot sauce and hoisin sauce. Simple, sweet, and somewhat spicy. Sometimes I’d add a squeeze of a lemon slice on top for that fresh taste as well. Overall, Pho Hoa has changed my Pho experience for the better and I have returned multiple times since and consistently order the steak Pho soup with a side of a boba drink. The total comes out to $13 for the combo and I would say is worth the  money. The service is also very quick so that is always a plus. If you want to try authentic, clean, and tasty Pho, Pho Hoa is the place to go!

